Hear about new posts as they happen. Improve your marketing.

I’ve been in SEO for a long time and seen a lot over the years. Panda rolled out about a year into my career, then Penguin, then all the other amazing algorithm changes we’ve learned to roll with over the years. As Marshall Simmonds of Define Media Group says, “That right there is job security”.

I’ve also seen Google slap down different tactics that seem to be gaming their algorithm unfairly. We’ve seen them allow and then drop emojis, remove and add stars to results, and so much more.

Today I noticed something interesting happening that I haven’t seen in a while – a site getting star results off the back of another site’s reviews.

Before I go any further, allow me to say two things. First, I have no vested interest in either of the companies I am talking about here. I simply noticed something happening. I also am not saying that MapQuest is doing anything wrong here. Google is notoriously terrible at figuring out the original owner of content.

Today I was searching for some local results as I was helping a local business with their SEO. I noticed that MapQuest is getting star results showing in the search results even though they are simply displaying Yelp review counts.

Let’s use Vinyl Coffee & Wine Bar in San Francisco as an example. Vinyl was my coffee shop when I lived in San Francisco.

When you do a search for [vinyl coffee san francisco], you get this:

Screenshot 2017-03-03 15.35.34

Nothing out of sorts there. Yelp has reviews and gets stars. Facebook has reviews and gets stars. Google has reviews and gives themselves prime placement.

Nothing out of the ordinary.

But then you scroll further down on the page and find MapQuest:

Screenshot 2017-03-03 15.21.08

They have stars as well, with an aggregate rating of 6.6/10 being displayed, and 234 reviews.

But when you go to their site, you see that they’re bringing in reviews from Yelp (though apparently not in realtime, as Yelp has 238 reviews for them at the time of this writing while MapQuest has 234):

Screenshot 2017-03-03 15.53.34

If you look at the code, Yelp is using Schema.org and using the aggregateRating amount, whereas MapQuest is not using any sort of valid markup, though they do have a DIV called “aggregate-rating” and a value of 6.6 assigned.

Yelp:
Screenshot 2017-03-03 16.02.24

MapQuest:
Screenshot 2017-03-03 16.02.37

Conclusion

Based off looking at the two code snippets above, I do not believe that MapQuest is doing anything wrong. They don’t have the ratings inside of valid Schema, but Google is choosing to show the stars anyway. So good for them while it lasts!

Looking for tool and book recommendations?

Sometimes the hardest part of growing your company is finding the right tools to use to execute on your strategies. Tools are a dime a dozen, but the right tool for the job is hard to find.

Check out our recommendations for lead generation and SEO tools as well as the books we recommend reading as you grow your business.

More Articles

ROI vs ROAS – What’s the difference?

Posted by on December 13, 2018 in Growth

When you’re speaking with an agency or consultant about them running your paid acquisition campaigns, such as Google Ads or Facebook Ads, you may hear…

View Post
The top business podcasts we’re listening to at Credo

Posted by on December 11, 2018 in CredoCast/Entrepreneurship

  Check out this episode on iTunes. As I’ve been building Credo for the last few years, I’ve realized that in order to have a…

View Post
When should CPG companies start investing in social ads?

Posted by on December 5, 2018 in CredoCast/Social Media

There’s a lot of advice out there about investing in social media advertising and how it’s the new wild west of advertising, with cheaper clicks…

View Post
Loading...